Throwback Thursday, 30 July

Image of the Wheel of TimeThe Wheel of Time is a series written by Robert Jordan. Sadly, Robert Jordan passed away before he could finish the series so the last three books I think it was, were written by Brandon Sanderson.

The Wheel of Time series was the first series of books that I fell in love with. It is such an amazing fantasy series that right from the very beginning I was suckered in, and have been ever since.

The first book in the series, The Eye of the World, was written in 1990 and the final book A Memory of Light, was written in 2013. I still remember getting a copy of The Eye of the World for Christmas one year from my Dad, I was about 14 at the time and was into books like the Tomorrow series by John Marsden. I remember looking at the cover of the book and wondering what the hell my Dad was thinking when he bought me a book that looked like an ancient fantasy novel.

Well if that wasn’t a good first lesson in not judging a book by it’s cover, I don’t know what is! I was apprehensive when I first started reading it, and at first I was a bit exasperated at having to read a few sentences and then go to the glossary in the back to understand what the hell I was reading. But once I clued on…the rest is history.

Every birthday or Christmas after that I was asking for the next book in the series, and I’d go back and read all the books again right from the start so I could jump right into reading the next one… That is, until I caught up with the series and had to wait a couple of years at one point I think. It was like torture because it was getting right to the climax!

After Robert Jordan died and I got my hands on the first book written by Brandon Sanderson, I was again apprehensive. I really wanted to finish the series but what if Brandon Sanderson ruined it and wasn’t true to Robert Jordan’s story and the characters? I did some research on Brandon Sanderson and his relationship with Robert Jordan and apparently they were close and Robert had written substantial notes and specifically asked Brandon to finish the series if he died. So it was with that that I started reading the last three books. I have to say, though it wasn’t exactly the same as Robert Jordan’s style of writing, I think Brandon Sanderson did a really good job in finishing the series. There was a really strong element of Robert Jordan coming through in the last three books, even though it was more to Brandon Sanderson’s style, so it was still an enjoyable read…and still my favourite series.

So that’s the first ever series of books that I fell in love with. Do you have a favourite series of books? How did you come across them?

Take care,



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s