Voxiebox – “Help me Obi Wan Kenobi, you’re my only hope”

alec-guinness-as-ben-obi-wan-kenobi-in-starSurely everyone knows this quote from Star Wars right? You have a hologram of Princess Leia asking Obi Wan Kenobi for help. Back then, the idea of a holographic projection was total science fiction. Now though, it’s reality.

I bring this up for a couple of reasons. I work with educational technologies so I’m really interested in how we can improve the learning experience, and man I reckon holographic projections could be huge! Imagine if you did most of your studies externally but needed some way of seeing a demo right in front of you, as if you were actually standing there? Sure maybe you could use 3D glasses and sorta kinda get the idea, or even Google Cardboard may help too though I don’t know about you it makes me awfully dizzy. Why not do it without the headgear and just have it pop up right on your table top? Walk all the way around it, see it from any angle you want to. I think this has real potential in the education sector, and I am dying to find a project at work where I can suggest this as an idea.

The second reason I bring this up is because one of the guys who came up with this idea, Will Tamblyn, I used to work with him. Lovely guy, absolutely brilliant. I remember talking to him a few years ago when he and his buddy Gavin were just throwing around the idea. It seemed totally out of this world even then, that a couple of guys could come up with something like this just over beers, or coffee or even the household tea kettle! To see an thought like this actually become like a real thing called Voxiebox is pretty darn cool and I’m really happy that Will and Gavin have been able to actually do it but also take it to companies like NASA, that’s a pretty huge achievement!

Will and Gavin did a TEDx Talk in Adelaide a while back and I’d recommend watching the video and hearing the story of how the Voxiebox came to be. It’s a pretty funny story. The audio in the video isn’t too great, but it’s worth the watch.


Picture reference: http://donthatethegeek.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/alec-guinness-as-ben-obi-wan-kenobi-in-star.jpg

Leave a Reply

