Throwback Thursday, 15 October – Motel I’m staying in

What’s your preference, a hotel or a motel? For me it kinda depends on budget. Hotels in Australia can be on the pricey side and I find that generally the motels are just as good and for nearly half the price, so when I’m travelling on a budget I go for a motel. Only to a point though…and that point is staying in Australia. Generally you know what kind of quality your own country is going to provide you for the price, and I’m quite ok staying in motels in my own country, but if I was travelling overseas, it would always be a hotel or resort that I would stay in. Mostly because I find the security is better and they tend to have better ratings.

Which is what I’ve done with this trip I’m on at the moment. I’ve come up to Queensland to attend the Pole Festival, and because attending that in itself cost so much money, not to mention flights, I thought I’d save myself a buck and stay at a motel.

IMAG1301How does this qualify as a “throwback” you ask? Well, the motel itself is from around the 1960s I think, and if it wasn’t for the weird salmon pink colour it’s all painted it would be quite quaint. It doesn’t have an elevator, which I think may kill me with all the workshops I’m doing, it was hard enough lugging a 17kg bag up the stairs let alone how I’m gonna feel when my muscles are sore!

On the inside though it’s not too bad, relatively up to date, the bathroom looks like it was done maybe sometime in the last few years at least, and it’s definitely spacious enough, and most importantly it’s clean.

So although the building itself is a blast from the past, at least they have tried to bring it up to the present and have kept it in a relatively good state of repair, and clean.

Leave a Reply

