Friday Favourites, 16 October – All about pole

Oh my it has been a big week, and it will be an even bigger weekend before it’s all done. I’m at Pole Festival and have book myself into 5 workshops per day, not all pole, some are non-pole workshops but they’re all active classes. Today is the end of day one and I’m sore already. Mind you the last time I did this I was sore but once I started warming up the next day I felt alright, so I’m hoping it’ll be the same tomorrow. I did preemptively book myself a remedial massage for two days after I get back though so I figure that’ll be plenty of time for all the aches to come out so the massage therapist can relieve them a bit! Anyway, on to the highlights of the previous week.

Exotic pole. It was my last class for the term, although the actual last class isn’t until this coming Sunday, but being at pole camp I can’t attend that. So at my last class, the instructor let me film it so I have the whole routine on video so I can finish learning it on my own, yay!

Relaxation massage. Might sound a little backwards but I wanted to have a relaxing massage before going on holidays, and it was one of my favourite day spas that I went to, and the massage was so good I dozed off a couple of times!

Paragon International Championships. I flew up to Coolangatta yesterday and last night the Paragon International Championships were on, and the opening act was Mya performing some of her songs live and then even getting on the pole and doing a couple of tricks which was just so good to see! Below is a picture of Mya making pretty shapes on the pole. The talent of the polers in the competition was just incredible, it was a really great and really inspirational show to see.

IMAG1318

Handstand press. If you’re like me and you haven’t really done handstands since being a kid, they for some reason are so much harder as an adult! I’ve done handstands and forearm and shoulder stands as an adult, mostly against the pole though, doing them without freaks me out a bit, so today I did a handstand class and one of the moves I was able to do by the end of it was a handstand press. Or at least, I was able to come out of the handstand into the press position, but I haven’t tried going up yet. I don’t think that will be too far off for me, I just need to work through my fear of falling out of the handstand first lol. If you have no idea what a handstand press looks like, below is a YouTube clip, if you watch from about 2:14 that’s what i achieved today.

Static pole spins. I learned how to pole dance on a static pole, and it’s only until recently that our studio started doing any static pole classes and unfortunately I haven’t done any of those classes yet, though if I eventually want to perform I should do it so I get comfortable on it. The class I did today was with Marlo Fisken and wasn’t just around how to spin on static, but was more how to keep a flowing move around the pole without stopping. Man she’s just so graceful and fluid, it’s like she’s just caressing the floor or the pole any time her hands touch it, she’s just incredible. A photo of her from the class is below.

VIDEO0086_0000014277

Burlesque moves. One of the other workshops I did today was an introduction to burlesque moves. We got the walking, the glove pulling off, how to take of your dress, all sorts of little tricks to make taking off your clothes a bit more like a sensual tease, rather than just “get your tits out” kind of thing. I had a lot of fun in this class, the instructor was so charismatic and funny.

Shopping! Ok, of course while you’re at Pole Festival you should make sure you buy all the merchandise right? Or at least all the merchandise you wouldn’t normally be able to buy! And that’s exactly what I did…and now I’m sure my bank account hates me, but I’m pretty happy. I bought a tank, leggings, matching crop and booty shorts and new pole shoes. A picture of all my goodies is below.

IMAG1341

How has your week been this week? Let me know in the comments below if there’s anything exciting that you’d like to share.

Take care,

Jas

Leave a Reply

