Friday Favourites, 23 October

Well the last week has been a really busy week for me. I was still at the Pole Festival so a lot of my highlights have come from that!

Handstands. As an adult have you tried doing handstands? It is so hard, and so much more technical than I thought it was as a kid! I did a couple of these workshops at Pole Festival, and it was challenging but it was so much fun and I learnt heaps about how to balance in handstands.

Static pole. I have trained on the spinning pole and really haven’t done anything on a static pole. So a couple of the classes that I did at Pole Festival were based on how to make dancing on a static pole “flow”. It’s a completely different kind of movement to what I’m used to and so I felt like I got heaps out of those workshops.

Burlesque. Oh this was a bit of saucy fun indeed. I learnt a few burlesque moves to teasingly take off clothes and put on a nice, tasteful, strip show.

Bruise pride. Every pole dancer knows this one. You talk to the other girls, or your partner or people at work or whatever and you’re like “look at all my bruises! I got this one from doing this trick/this class” etc. There’s a certain level of pride associated with the collection of bruises because hey I’ve been achieving something and doing cool tricks!

Coming home. Despite the fact that I had heaps of fun at Pole Festival, I still loved coming home. For me I just love coming home after a trip and being surrounded by my own things, my own shower and my own bed. It’s heavenly!

Remedial massage. I thought after getting back from Pole Festival that after dancing for a few hours each day that my muscles would be really achy and I’d need a massage. My muscles were actually fine, they didn’t feel sore or fatigued. But I decided to keep this massage time anyway, and oh boy was it painful! My body might not have felt sore but I tell you so many of my muscles were really, really tight so there was a lot of pressure point therapy, but at least those muscles feel looser now, whew.

I hope you all had a great week too, let me know in the comments below what the highlights of your week were.

Take care,

Jas

Leave a Reply

