Motivational Monday, 26 October – Closer than I was yesterday

Fitness-Motivation-Quotes-Fitness-Motivational-Quote-8

I don’t know about you guys, but sometimes I struggle in my journey. Not my overall life journey, but the ones in between that make it up. Like my university journey or my pole dancing journey, or even my career journey.

I injured a tendon in my right arm that links my upper arm to my elbow at Pole Festival, and so at the moment I feel like I’m being pushed a few steps back in my pole dancing journey. But then I think of it another way, I might well have this injury but my body has become so strong from pole dancing that it’s not crippling me to the point where I can’t use my arm. Sure it is weaker and it aches, but I am still allowed to do light exercise because the rest of my body is strong enough it can compensate for that injury and protect itself, plus I know my limits far more intimately than I ever have before. A few years ago, I would have been out for the count for weeks. So I am definitely further than I was in my journey, and that’s what I need to keep in mind.

I guess the point is, if you feel like you’ve been set back in some way, think about how you’re dealing with that set back now, compared to how you would have dealt with it 2, 3 or even 5 years ago. There would be a huge difference because you are closer to where you want to be now, than what you were back then and that will have give you the ability to better cope with little bumps along the way.

Leave a Reply

