Friday Favourites, 6 November – I got promoted!

It has been incredibly full on week for me this week and I have a few highlights to share, one that includes a promotion!

Seeing my grandparents. My uni field trip was based about five minutes from my grandparents how, so I stayed with them for the duration of the field trip. It was really nice to be able to spend some time with them for a few days.

Lizard scat. Ok, so how many people would say that poop is a highlight of the week? One of the activities on the field trip was to clamber over a rocky shore looking for lizard scat because we wanted to analyse the difference in diet between adults and juveniles. Sounds gross, but it was actually fun climbing up and over things and being all sciencey.

Bird catching. This was a more relaxing activity on the field trip. We walked around in scrubland and put up some mist nets and then wandered back and forth checking them out to see if we’d caught any birds. The idea to check their health and see if they had any ticks. Geez birds are fascinating, if you’ve never been able to hold wild ones in your hand and look at them up close, they are amazing little creatures.

Uni’s over. For the year anyway. As much as I love uni, I really do look forward to having holidays. It’s a big three month holiday and at the end I’m normally chomping at the bit to get back to my studies but at the moment I’m happy to be on a long break.

The promotion! Within twenty minutes of returning to work on Thursday I got a call from my boss offering me a promotion to Manager. It’s effective 1st November and I’m officially managing 5 people across 2 teams. I’m excited and overwhelmed and it all seems a little surreal at the moment.

Hope everyone else has been having a lovely week, what have the highlights been for you?

Take care,

Jas

Leave a Reply

