Deferring uni

I’ve been thinking for the last few months about what I want to do with myself. Obviously I have to work because bills have to be paid, so full-time work will need to continue, but the other biggest thing was my uni work.

To give a bit of background, I started uni again because I didn’t enjoy the work I was doing and so was looking at it as an investment in a career change. But now, I do enjoy what I’m doing and the company I’m working for and so it’s more of a hobby now; something to do because it interests me.

University as a hobby is a huge investment, in terms of time and effort and it’s also an added layer of stress because of the assignments and deadlines. I can’t help but feel it’s being a bit wasted on me because I’m not taking it seriously.

In addition to uni, I also want to volunteer at Monarto Zoo one or two days a month, of course there’s still pole dancing and the gym which I haven’t had much time for lately, and I want to be able to take my kayaks out. That’s just all the things I want to do without thinking about seeing family or friends, so quite a lot on my plate!

The one thing I feel that’s really holding me back from investing in all that or doing it as much as I wished I could is uni. Purely because uni takes up so much of my time in the evenings and on the weekends, I don’t often feel like I have time for much else.

So having thought about it long and hard, I’m going to defer uni next year. I’m not sure if I want to give up my position in the course yet, so deferring at least gives me some wiggle room to see how next year goes, I can do all the things I want to do and then decide if I really want to give up my position.

Leave a Reply

