Motivational Monday, 18 January – Children

spending-time-with-children-is-more-important-then-spending-money-on-children-inspirational-quote

I don’t have kids, but many of my friends do. The thing that I’ve noticed the most strongly, of all these children I know, is that it’s not the kids who have the most toys that seem to be the happiest.

The ones with heaps of toys I’ve found I don’t want to be around because they are spoilt brats who chuck tanties when they don’t get their way.

The other kids I know who spend their time playing with siblings, exploring the backyard with them or splashing around in the pool with their parents, they’re the ones who seem the happiest. Not when playing with toys, but when they’re with people and having fun with people, that’s when I see them smile and giggle the most.

I wonder what all these children will remember as the highlights of their childhood, when did they have the most fun? Would it be when they were playing with one of the huge number of toys they had? Or maybe when they’re playing in the pool or at the beach making sandcastles with their parents and friends?

None of the highlights from my childhood have anything to do with toys, they’re all to do with spending time with those people close to me. I suppose that’s something for me to keep in mind for when I do decide to have children. Maybe it’s not about the toys, it’s about the people that make it special.


Picture via Quotes Gram.

 

 

Leave a Reply

