I’m going to be a volunteer!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On Tuesday I had an interview with Zoos SA for a volunteer position with Monarto Zoo. I’m happy to say that I have been accepted, woohoo!

What this means is I have to do a day of orientation and basic training, and then three days of specific training with the group I’ll be working with which is the Mallee Minders. Basically the Mallee Minders look after the zoo land, so it could be anything from a spot of gardening, building paths or helping with fire breaks, anything that helps maintain the land of the zoo.

There will be a second round of training from about July this year where I’m also hoping to do training as a Platform Host which means you go out on the platforms and just talk to people, answer any questions they may have about the zoo or the animals in them. I like the people interaction of that role, but also the fact that it’s not a Tour Guide position which means you’re not repeating the same script over and over again.

Do you do any volunteer work? Let me know in the comments below how you find the volunteer work you do!

Take care,

Jas

Leave a Reply

