Motivational Monday – Dogs

ac30cbfb580e870c6032c68ac6b922f8

My poor little dog has been sick the last few days, though she came home this evening thankfully. She had some kind of gastro, the vet isn’t really sure what caused it. They’re seeing a lot of dogs come down sick at the moment with the same symptoms and they think it could be something to do with the last couple of weeks of humidity we’ve been having, which can be an awesome growing environment for bugs, and not so great for everything else!

Anyway, not having her with me the last couple of days just made me realise how big a part of my life she is and how much I really missed her company. It may not seem like much because you don’t spend all your time interacting with them, but she’s my companion and when I’m sitting blogging or watching TV she’s there, she’s a presence. I can hear her breath, yelp in her sleep, fart, snore, you name it. I love her, I cuddle her, she’s my little buddy.

This poster reminds me of how I imagine a lot of dog owners must feel. I rescued Izzy from a couple who were splitting and couldn’t keep her any longer. She was about four months old at the time, and a nervous nelly. She’s nearly nine years old and still is a bit nervous sometimes around new people. Anyway, although I didn’t have to pay an adoption fee, the money that I had to pay to make her well again over the weekend… it can’t compare to seeing her back to being her happy little self again, that tail windmilling and her backside wiggling from side to side uncontrollably. That brings me so much joy and happiness, even when she also slobbers all over my face trying to lick me hello.

Leave a Reply

