Zoo volunteering update

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About a month ago I posted saying I had been accepted as a volunteer up at Monarto Zoo. I was, and still am, super excited about this opportunity, but the last month since being accepted has been both full on while there’s also been not much happening at all!

I attended an Orientation and Basic Training day about three weeks ago where I learnt a bit more about Monarto and Zoos SA, things like OH&S, the expectations of volunteers and that sort of thing. So all very generic, which was fine. We also got a trip around Monarto Zoo so that we could see where we’d be working from, and learn a bit more about the Zoo from behind the scenes. That was really cool.

In the last three weeks since then, I have been put in contact with my trainer for the Mallee Minders so am now trying to work out dates I can do that with work, and after I’ve done that I’ll be fully qualified, yay! I’ve also had to organise a police check which is a pain in the bum but because I’ll be a volunteer with Zoos SA I get it for free which is good. On top of that there is a Volunteers Meeting this Saturday which I’m hoping to go to, but it starts right when the Zoo is opening and I don’t have a pass or anything to get in, so I’m waiting to hear how all of that will work.

It definitely feels like it’s all happening, and I’m pretty pumped. The only other thing I really need to do is go shopping and buy some appropriate pants to wear as a Mallee Minder. They have to be like Hard Yakka pants (or shorts), so I need to work out where the hell I can buy those for ladies as I’ve only ever seen them for sale for the guys.

Are you just starting volunteering anywhere? Or have you been volunteering for a while? What do you enjoy about it?

Take care,

Jas

Leave a Reply

