Motivational Monday – The Puzzle of Motivation

I found a really interesting TED Talk video that was all about motivation; what works, what doesn’t.

The message is actually pretty simple, and uses scientific studies to back it up. Basically, using carrots and sticks isn’t a very effective method of motivating people. What does is when they do, whatever it is they’re doing, because they like it and feel like they’re making a difference.

I reflect back and look at the things I’ve tried, like if I exercise X times in a month I’ll treat myself to Y, and that fails miserably because that’s not really what I’m interested in. Then I look at the work I want to do up at Monarto Zoo, which is all volunteer work. Because I love it. Yep, I think I know what the best method is!

Leave a Reply

