Attempted soap making

One thing I’ve been wanting to try for a while is making home made bath products, one of those being soap of course. I also want to try other bath products like hand wash, bubble bath, liquid shower wash instead of a hard bar of soap, as well as body lotions and what not. And then maybe move on to household cleaners too.

But the first stop was trying out soap. I’d been a bit hesitant about it previously because of having to work with caustic soda. At uni though I’ve worked with some harsh chemicals though and everything was fine, so I figured I’d take a leave out of uni’s book and just make sure I had all the necessary safety gear on, so the lab coat, safety glasses, closed shoes, face mask etc.

I did a lot of research on ye olde internet and found a recipe to try out which used the caustic soda and then a combination of olive oil, coconut oil and sunflower oil. I also researched how to make it scented and coloured, but naturally so.

Here’s what those bars of soap look like…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I did the cold method so it’s just curing for another few weeks before it can be used. And you can see I tried to put a “home made” stamp on it but I think it was still a bit too soft when I did that so it hasn’t worked out too well.

The colour looks pretty good, I used tumeric to give it the colour and I put some lemongrass essential oil in it but you can’t smell it, and I’m not sure if that’s because it was a cheapie or if I didn’t put enough in. Probably the first though.

So first attempt at soap making, not too bad I don’t think. Can’t expect it to be perfect the first time around! When I actually get around to using it though I’ll do an update on the soap.

Have you ever made soap before? Are there ingredients you love using or do you have a preferred method?

Take care,

Jas

Leave a Reply

