Qualified volunteer!

I’m super excited to say that I have completed my training and am now qualified as a Mallee Minder volunteer with the Zoo, woohoo!

The training days were just really to familiarise me with how to get into the zoo and where to go, rostering, and of course meeting new people.

I have had some pretty cool experiences already, there’s the usual land maintenance and conservation work. But if doing that while being able to watch giraffe or Mongolian horses wasn’t cool enough, I have also been able to pat rhino, and given an odd, ad-hoc job of helping to round up yellow footed rock wallabies for their vet check.

Now that I am qualified though, it means I get my shirt and security pass into the zoo and get to choose which Wednesdays I can go up there and help out, I just need to send the supervisor a text and let him know I’m heading up.

 

Leave a Reply

