Motivational Monday – Procrastination

I saw this TED Talk video about procrastination, or rather what it’s like to be a procrastinator. I wonder if, like this guy says we are all procrastinators in some way. Whether we procrastinate with assignments for example by only just scraping in to get things done by the due date, or whether we mean to join the gym at some point, or start eating healthy at some point…

It doesn’t really give any answers but it is interesting to see just how a procrastinators mind works.

But what are some tips and tricks to help one overcome procrastination? There are loads and loads of tips on the internet of course, all written by people who I’m sure have never been a procrastinator. Have I been one? Yep. Not any more though. But what changed is a really hard thing to put my finger on.

I think it was partly to do with my mindset, and partly to do with giving myself damn due dates for everything, and making myself accountable to certain people like my boss for instance. He may ask me to do something “not important” and as a procrastinator that means it’ll never get done. So instead I ask him for a due date, end of this week or end of next week, whatever it happens to be. And yeah, I might still leave it until the last day or two to get it done but at least it gets done.

Sometimes breaking tasks down into smaller chunks and adding self-imposed deadlines can work for the more motivated types, but honestly…yeah no. Doesn’t work for me unless I actually have to give those results to someone else.

Maybe yelling at yourself, just freaking doing it! Putting on some peppy music, and get yourself psyched up like Rambo, and then just do it. Or like me get distracted by the music and forget whatever else you were meant to be doing…

Reward systems can help, as long as they are rewards that you wouldn’t normally give yourself. For instance, if I do X then afterwards I’ll read my book for half an hour. What makes that reward special? It needs to be special in order to help.

The hardest thing with procrastination is working out what will help you the most. Is it being with a buddy? Or announcing your goals to the world? Is it the reward system? Do you need someone else to impose deadlines?

Good luck everyone, and if you have any handy tips for beating procrastination, then please share them with me in the comments!

Take care,

Jas

Leave a Reply

