Friday Favourites

Not a lot has happened over the past week, things have been relatively quiet. Socially anyway. Work has been an absolute nightmare though and has been incredibly busy! I don’t have much to share by way of highlights this week because I’ve done really not much at all, partly because last weekend I was virtually couch and bed bound with a sore neck and shoulder, and partly because work has been so tiring I’ve been falling asleep really early in the evening!

Conflict resolution. This might be an odd one to highlight I know, but as a new manager I’ve not had to do any sort of conflict resolution with my staff..until this week. There was a bit of an email squabble and so I brought everyone into my office and got them to talk about it with my guidance. It actually went really well I thought, there was a lot of tension eased by doing that, so overall I was happy with it.

Afternoon tea. I caught up with one of my staff for afternoon tea and to have a bit of a one on one chat. She’s been driving me nuts lately with all her bitchiness and whining so it was a good opportunity to try and nut out why she’s acting that way, and there’s a few reasons I suspect, such as me being promoted instead of her, and unfortunately she’s just going to have to get over it cos that’s just the way it is. But nevertheless it was good to have a bit of an open chat and touch base.

Dietician. I saw my dietician for the first time in a couple of months. I’d been concerned that my eating was starting to get out of control again but she helped me see that it actually isn’t as bad as I see it in my head which is good.

Movies tonight. Soon my partner and I will be off to the movies, we’re going to see the new Divergent movie. I can’t remember the last time I went to the movies so I’m looking forward to it.

Despite a rather slow week, there are a few things I’m looking forward to over the next week like going to Monarto Zoo tomorrow, not as a volunteer but because my step-mum has been wanting to go for a while. There’s a friends 30th birthday as well and a public holiday on Monday for Anzac Day, so I’m looking forward to having a long weekend too.

Are there any highlights you would like to share?

Take care,

Jas

Leave a Reply

